Academic Programs

Nursing (ADN)

Associate of Applied Science Degree
Program Description
Sioux City, Denison and Hybrid Online

Western Iowa Tech Community College Nursing Programs are fully approved at the state level by the Iowa Board of Nursing and at the federal level by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. Graduates are eligible to write licensure exams and to work in all 50 states. The nursing programs follow a 1+1 progression where the student can graduate with a diploma or a degree.

The Practical Nursing Program is the diploma option (semesters 1 and 2). Graduates are eligible to write the National Council Licensing Examination for Practical Nurses (NCLEX-PN). The student may choose to finish their education at this point or continue (semesters 3, 4 and 5) for an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN). The ADN Completion Program is also an opportunity for the experienced licensed practical nurse (LPN) to continue their education to become eligible to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN).

Both programs have support courses and clinical requirements and are also available in an online hybrid format. Students have an option to enroll on a full-time or part-time basis. For further information on these health care careers, contact one of the nursing program advisors listed below.

The nursing profession offers a wide variety of opportunities and specialties. Nurses should be caring, sympathetic, responsible, and detail oriented individuals. 

Required Classes

SDV 108 The College Experience.............................................. 1
BIO 169 Human Anatomy and Physiology IA w/lab................. 4
PSY 111 Introduction to Psychology......................................... 3
BIO 151 Nutrition...................................................................... 3
PNN 624 Nursing I...................................................................... 9
BIO 174 Human Anatomy and Physiology IIA w/lab................ 4
PSY 121 Developmental Psychology........................................ 3
PNN 625 Nursing II..................................................................... 9
PSY 241 Abnormal Psychology................................................. 3
BIO 186 Microbiology............................................................... 4
ADN 621 Nursing III.................................................................... 9
CSC 110 Introduction to Computers......................................... 3
ADN 622 Nursing IV................................................................... 9
SOC 110 Introduction to Sociology…………………………….... 3
MAT 772 Applied Math.............................................................. 3
ENG 105 Composition I............................................................. 3

Program Total ........................................................... 73

Contacts

Pamela Ives, ext 1313, pamela.ives@witcc.edu
Kelli Flack MSN, ext 1339, kelli.flack@witcc.edu
Kelli Engel MSN, ext 1244, kelli.engel@witcc.edu
Kelly Hannah MSN, ext 1829, kelly.hannah@witcc.edu
Angela Kastner MSN, Denison, ext 2639, angela.kastner@witcc.edu
Jessica Thompson MSN, ext 1824, jessica.thompson@witcc.edu
Take the Next Step
Visit at 4647 Stone Avenue, Sioux City, Iowa 51106
4647 Stone Avenue
Sioux City, Iowa 51106
Call 800.349.4649 or 712.274.6400
800.352.4649
712.274.6400
Email info@witcc.edu
info@witcc.edu