Date: August 14, 2023
Time: 4:00 pm
Location: WITCC Campus - Sioux City, Iowa

WITCC Mission

We elevate our diverse learners and strengthen our communities through inclusive and innovative education

Board Members

Russell Wray, Tricia Sutherland (Zoom), Blanca Martinez, Linnea Fletcher, Jeremy Ogle, Al Aymar (Zoom), Erin Muck (Zoom)
Absent: Micah Lang, Bill Anderson
Brenda Wright, Board Secretary


Terry Murrell, College President | Juline Albert, VP of Learning | Troy Jasman, VP of Finance and Administrative Services | Darin Moeller, Executive Dean of Instruction | Jackie Plendl, Dean of Human Resources | Tawnya Beermann, Dean of Students | Christina Brandon, Dean of Outreach and Information Technology | Revathi Vongsiprasom, Dean of Opportunity and Engagement


Dr. Erin Volk, Director of Institutional Research and Resource Development | Carmen Wilson, Associate Dean - Corporate College | Teri Peterson, Associate Dean - Health Sciences 


  1. Meeting was called to order by Russell Wray at 4:00pm
  2. Brenda Wright took a roll call of directors.
  3. Russ Wray opened the Public Hearing for the Soccer Field Improvements Project. No comments or questions.
  4. Russell Wray asked for any Oral Communications. Shannon Jorstad approached the Board and communicated to the board the hardship to her family caused by her husband losing his teaching job at WITCC in 2017.
  5. Tricia Sutherland stated that the Community Colleges for Iowa Report will report out in September after we meet later this month.
  6. Terry Murrell gave a President's Report
    1. 2023 Fall Semester Enrollment
      1. We are currently up right now and expect to stay up. We are continuing to see more part time students.
    2. Welcome Week Activities
      1. lots of activities - check out our website.
    3. Russell Wray also talked about a conference he attended. Dr. Lee - CEO of ACCT - Dr. Lee talked about the 10 things he sees as changing in the community college area.
  7. Linnea Fletcher made a motion to adjourn and it was seconded by Blanca Martinez. All were in favor and the meeting adjourned at 4:49 pm.