WITCC campuses are open. Campus hours are Monday - Thursday from 8:00am - 5:00pm. Closed Friday - Sunday. Visit witcc.edu/hours for full list.
For more information on our plan for maintaining a safe and healthy campus, click here.
Marketing & Publications
712.274.8733 ext. 1250
Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun - Closed
Contact Information
Marketing & Publications
712.274.8733 ext. 1250
Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun - Closed


Back to List

Technical Skills Competition Awards

Posted on: April 11, 2017

Western Iowa Tech Community College (WITCC) hosted its annual Technical Skills Competition Day for high school students Friday, April 7. Following is a list of the competition winners and their high schools.

Participants competed in hands-on and written activities in a specific area of competency.  Students chose to compete in one of the following programs:  auto body, auto technology, welding, carpentry, 3D design, drafting fundamentals, graphic design & web design, digital photography, culinary, confined space rescue and audio engineering. Judging was done by WITCC faculty, students, and area professionals with experience in these technical fields.

First place winners won a $500 WITCC scholarship and $50 gift card, second place winners received a certificate of achievement and $25 gift card, and third place received a certificate of achievement and $15 gift card.

1st Place:
Bradee Bouman – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
Hailey Carnahah – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
Kim Najar – East High School
Emily Palmersheim – East High School

2nd Place:
Emily Barrientos – West High School
Jakob Dunlap – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
Brooklyn Huberty – Sergeant Bluff-Luton

3rd Place:
Jenna Angerman – East High School
Preston Tooley – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
Allyson Hertz – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
Avery Miller – East High School

Auto Tech
1st Place: Deven Paulsen – Le Mars
2nd Place: Alex Krapfl – Hinton
3rd Place: Konner Hays – Hinton

1st Place: Turner Schmitt – Hinton
2nd Place: Dakota Williams – Lawton Bronson
3rd Place: Andrew Hessa – Hinton

Graphic Design
1st Place: Anna Magona – East High School
2nd Place: Katt Ortiz – East High School
3rd Place: Kira Petty – North High School
We normally only have 3 places, but this was such a close competition!
4th Place: Ian Joyce – Bishop Heelan

1st Place: Hunter Heckert – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
2nd Place: Ethan Marx – Elk Point Jefferson
3rd Place: Chris Begnoche – Le Mars

3D Design
1st Place: Albert Jovignot – Le Mars
2nd Place: Jake Malik – Le Mars
3rd Place: Abraham Cerde – Le Mars

Drafting Fundamental
1st Place: Gabe Clark – Hinton
2nd Place: Paul Schlotman – Hinton
3rd Place: LeRoy Wichers – Le Mars

Digital Photography
1st Place: Kylie Bergenske – East High School
2nd Place: AJ Ellington – Sergeant Bluff-Luton
3rd Place: Mak Jaqua – East High School

Auto Body
1st Place: Takoda Hoffmeier – Denison
2nd Place: Tanner Reimer – Denison
3rd Place: Tanner Schramm – Denison

Audio Engineering/Video & Media Production
1st Place: Anna Sewalson – East High School
2nd Place: Tristen O’Connor – East High School
3rd Place: Sean McGarry – Bishop Heelan

Take the Next Step
Visit at 4647 Stone Avenue, Sioux City, Iowa 51106
4647 Stone Avenue
Sioux City, Iowa 51106
Call 800.349.4649 or 712.274.6400
Email info@witcc.edu